No-confidence motion Live: Two TMC lawmakers will skip no-trust vote today

Top guns of BJP and Congress, including Congress president Rahul Gandhi, will take part in the no-confidence motion debate, which will conclude with a reply from Prime Minister Narendra Modi. The no-trust vote also has the support of TMC, Nationalist…

The Lok Sabha will debate on Friday a no-confidence motion against Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s government moved by the opposition.

The government has said it is confident of its numbers and that it was looking forward to a debate in which it can showcase its achievements during the first no-trust vote on the floor of Parliament in 15 years.

The Telugu Desam Party (TDP), an estranged ally of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) government, moved the no-confidence motion on Wednesday, which was admitted by Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan.

The no-confidence motion has the support of the Congress, Trinamool Congress (TMC), Nationalist Congress Party (NCP), Samajwadi Party (SP), and the Communist Party of India (Marxist), or CPI(M), a bitter rival of the TMC, among others. The ruling party, however, has a comfortable numerical edge with 273 members in the House with an effective strength of 533, excluding the Speaker.

Here are the Live updates on the no-confidence motion:

10:45 am IST

PM Modi meets Amit Shah, Rajnath Singh

PM Narendra Modi is holding a meeting with senior BJP leaders Amit Shah and Rajnath Singh in Parliament.

Shiv Sena to abstain from voting, says a report

Shiv Sena spokesperson Sanjay Raut reportedly says the NDA ally will abstain from voting in the no-confidence motion. News agency ANI says MPs Amit Desai, Arvind Sawant, and Anant Geete are present at the parliamentary party meeting.

10:41 am IST

Insufficient time to highlight issues says Congress

Is this time sufficient for us to highlight issues of 130 crore Indians and faults of this govt? Each party should get 30 minutes, but 38 minutes have been allotted to the largest opposition party. The no-confidence motion can’t be treated like question hour: Mallikarjun Kharge, Congress

10:40 am IST

Rahul Gandhi to speak at 11:30 am

TV reports say Congress president Rahul Gandhi will address Lok Sabha at 11:30 am. Experts say the no-confidence motion against the Modi government can be a show for Opposition unity ahead of 2019 Lok Sabha elections.

10:25 am IST

Amit Shah, BJP leaders show victory signs

BJP president Amit Shah arrives in Parliament with BJP leaders Vijay Goel and Ananth Kumar.

10:15 am IST

Leaders who will speak today

Home minister Rajnath Singh and MPs Rakesh Singh, Virendra Singh Mast and Arjun Ram Meghwal will speak from the government’s behalf on the no-confidence motion in the Lok Sabha today.

Party president Rahul Gandhi and Mallikarjun Kharge will speak for Congress, while Trinamool Congress will be represented by Saugata Roy and Sudip Bandopadhyaya. CPM leader Mohammed Salim will also address Parliament today.

10:05 am IST

Two TMC lawmakers will not vote in a no-confidence motion

Two MPs of the Trinamool Congress will not be present during the no-confidence motion. Party chief Mamata Banerjee’s nephew Abhishek Banerjee, who represents Diamond Harbour constituency, and Subrata Bakshi, from Kolkata Dakshin (West Bengal), are busy with organizing a rally on July 21.

10:00 am IST

Watch: How the numbers stack up for BJP, Opposition

9:50 am IST

Kapil Sibal says people waiting for ‘change’ in 2019

Ahead of a no-confidence motion in Parliament, Congress leader Kapil Sibal says people have “no confidence” in the Modi government and they are waiting for a “change in 2019”.

“No Confidence: In the government… In the Rupee at an all-time low of 69.05… In investigating agencies… People are waiting to vote for change in 2019.”

9:20 am IST

TRS MPs to abstain from voting?

TV reports say eleven TRS lawmakers will abstain from voting during the no-confidence motion. They are likely to stage a walkout on Friday.

9:00 am IST

Three PMs who have lost no-confidence motion

Friday’s no-trust vote is the first no-confidence motion to be moved in the Lok Sabha over the last 15 years. Before this, VP Singh, Deve Gowda, and Atal Bihari Vajpayee are the only three prime ministers who lost the no-confidence motion.

8:15am IST

What parties have said so far

BJP confident of defeating no-trust vote with ⅔ support. “We will not disclose the numbers, but you will see NDA-plus in the Lok Sabha,” parliamentary affairs minister Ananth Kumar said.

The Congress has said today’s no-confidence motion is more than a show of numbers, and the party wants to “expose” the Modi government’s “failure”.

BJP ally Shiv Sena keeps its cards close, but it has asked its MPs to remain in Delhi. On Thursday, the party withdrew its whip to MPs asking them to vote in favor of Modi government.

CPI(M) ready to join hands with opposition parties. “The party’s primary task is to oust the BJP-led NDA government, which is in the interest of the country and its people,” said general secretary Sitaram Yechury.

8:00 am IST

PM Modi tweets ahead of a no-confidence motion

Narendra Modi


Today is an important day in our Parliamentary democracy. I am sure my fellow MP colleagues will rise to the occasion and ensure a constructive, comprehensive & disruption free debate. We owe this to the people & the makers of our Constitution. India will be watching us closely.